65F and Lots of Bees

I’m standing in the yard right now blogging and it’s 65F, sunny, with little wind.

I’m looking at the Cowper deadout and noticed a few bees flying in and out. They are probably the foragers who survived while the rest of the colony froze. I was hoping a swarm moved in but that’s too good to be true right now as it’s still too early in the season.

I just saw a bee fly by me. Perhaps it’s from someone elses hives or a feral nearby. The bees that I’m seeing are working this dwarf hibicus that’s has been flowering since Summer.

Photos below are from my ipod touch which is extremely low resolution and poor.

This entry was posted in Honey Bees, Los Altos, Mountain View, Palo Alto, Swarms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

