Adopt A Hive – Hive Update from Curtis

Curtis, who adopted the Spuraway Hive which is  now located on a very nice property in Woodside, CA, sends an update on the girls along with photos.

“Hi Jack…

I did get the hive box on the bottom and I put a queen excluder over the
original hive box with a super on top. I’m waiting for a new cover which
should be here tomorrow and then I’ll send a picture or two. There is a
lot of activity around the hive and the flowering cherry trees are loaded
with bees almost all day. Lots of other flowers are blooming and the fruit
trees are just getting going so I think they will be very happy with the
coming warmer weather.

I was just reading your blog last night and you seem really busy with all
the swarms this spring. It’s quite amazing to watch you in action and the
owner of this property was also impressed by all that you do in the bee
world around here. Keep up the great work, Jack!

For now, I’m assuming the hive is in good running order and I’m going to
leave them alone to build up their colony strength and numbers before I
check in further. You were right about not using smoke when adding the
hive box – they were super mellow and it took only a 5-10 minutes before
it was finished.

If you have other suggestions or want to stop in to check on the hive, please
let me know – you are welcome any time.

Curtis”

Hi Jack…
I did get the hive box on the bottom and I put a queen excluder over the
original hive box with a super on top. I’m waiting for a new cover which
should be here tomorrow and then I’ll send a picture or two. There is a
lot of activity around the hive and the flowering cherry trees are loaded
with bees almost all day. Lots of other flowers are blooming and the fruit
trees are just getting going so I think they will be very happy with the
coming warmer weather.
I was just reading your blog last night and you seem really busy with all
the swarms this spring. It’s quite amazing to watch you in action and the
owner of this property was also impressed by all that you do in the bee
world around here. Keep up the great work, Jack!
For now, I’m assuming the hive is in good running order and I’m going to
leave them alone to build up their colony strength and numbers before I
check in further. You were right about not using smoke when adding the
hive box – they were super mellow and it took only a 5-10 minutes before
it was finished.
If you have other suggestions or want to stop in to check on the hive, please
let me know – you are welcome any time.
Curtis
This entry was posted in Adopt A Hive, Honey Bees and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

