Scouts Checking Out Old Hives

Saturday I received a call from my nephew that a swarm was moving into their balcony again. This would be the third colony living in there since they bought the house. I was told scouts were checking out the two locations where there are old combs on Friday but a bunch of bees showed up on Saturday. I think it wasn’t a swarm, it was just more scouts checking out their possible homes because by evening they were gone.

This was last year when we removed the colony.

Today I went over for a BBQ and checked the two balcony locations. One had no activity. The other one has a few bees moving in and out but no swarm has moved in yet. I am out of old hives or I would place one there as a swarm trap. I might still do that this week using a new hive, rub some lemongrass oil on the inside and then put some old frames with combs to attract these scouts.

This entry was posted in Bee Removal, Honey Bees, Los Altos, Swarms and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

