Adopt A Bee Hive – Los Altos FL-A Adopted

This season I’ve been receiving many emails and calls from people interested in starting beekeeping and adopting one of the hives. I’m always glad to make a new beekeeper and help out in anyway possible. My mentor list has grew dramatically and it’s wonderful!

Zach, a professional landscaper and now a dedicated new beekeeper recently adopted the FL-A hive. This hive was from my fig tree swarm, the larger swarm of the two. They were hived only on May 9th and have boomed from there, reaching about 60% filled. This queen emerged in May and then mated, now laying great patterns with much brood of all levels and have enough stores that they are now capping some of the honey.

I forgot to bring my camera but we used Zach’s Sprint HTC cell phone. Here’s Zach with his new booming honey bee hive. Can you tell he’s excited? šŸ™‚

Thanks Zach for adopting the FL-A hive!

This entry was posted in Adopt A Hive, Honey Bees and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adopt A Bee Hive – Los Altos FL-A Adopted

  1. Todd says:

    Hey Jack-

    You mentioned in a post that June is here, and we need to watch our bees to make sure they have enough food. I’ve noticed a lack of traffic out front of my hive. I mean, they are still cruising in and out, but I used to have a ton of bees out front around 1PM-2PM. Suppose that was the traffic jam that went with a heavy nectar flow. I also noticed the last few mornings a bunch of stragglers, seemingly trying to get back to the hive stretching about 15-20 feet from the entrance. Any ideas suggestions?

    I have one medium super that is 90% full, and I just added another, so I reckon they are a healthy hive. I stopped feeding the girls at the start of May, but should I think about giving them some more syrup, or are we still OK?

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks!

  2. Hey Todd,

    I’ve added two important links to the right hand side, one is California Bloom Dates. Citrus was our last significant nectar source. We have more throughout the season but it’s not as strong, and really depends on where you are at. Some areas will have better sources than other. Right now I noticed my hives in Los Altos slowing down, meaning they aren’t drawing new comb or not drawing as fast. A lot of this and queen laying is linked to having a good flow or not.

    For your hive and orientation flights, perhaps all of the capped brood emerged already and now it’s just in the cycle of waiting for the next batch. A quick inspection will tell.

    Also, you said your hive was 90% full, do you notice a lot less bees inside? I hope they didn’t swarm. Usually add another box when it’s 70% to 80% full. You can even add another, I add to the bottom if it was only one box before, when the nectar flow is strong even before the 70 to 80% rule, ensuring they do not run out of room.

    Feeding, was this a new package? I recall you had some established hives already. Also, a lot of people make the mistake of over-feeding, the hive becomes sugar syrup bound, and then the colony swarms. If you see capped stores, stop feeding. I hived many swarms and cutouts since March and have not fed a drop of syrup. They are all doing well. I do see some kicking out drones already as the nectar flow slows. Just watch your hive and check on their storage before feeding again. General rule is to have about 20-30 pounds of honey stores for them going into our cold months. Some years they don’t even need it. Remember our Winter usually isn’t that bad though our last Nov and Dec was wet and frosty for a long period of time. But then we have rosemary and eucalyptus starting around late Dec to early Jan. And I do see my bees bringing in pollen throughout the year, even Winter.

Leave a Reply

