Thermal Images of… SKUNKS!

We have at least one pair of skunks that roam our neighborhood and sometimes, or perhaps most nights, they come to or through my yard looking for food sources. Some beekeepers have had skunks tear into their bee hives but I’ve been lucky as this pair hasn’t touched any of my hives yet, and it has been a while already. Perhaps when it gets cooler with less food around, they will, but hopefully not. Should I feed the skunks so they won’t eat my bees? Would skunks return more regularly if I fed them like cats do? Hmm… I think I’ll let nature take its course.

This pair, I think male and female as one is obviously larger than the other, walk towards my bee hives which is to the right, not shown on these thermal images.

Just thought it would be neat to share with everyone. 🙂

This entry was posted in Honey Bees, Misc and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thermal Images of… SKUNKS!

  1. C.M. Mayo says:

    Very amusing! I hope those skunks don’t get into the hives.

  2. I hope they don’t either! It has been a while now and they have not touched a single hive, at least I have not noticed. We’ll see what happens when this Winter comes. If they do mess with the hives I’ll have to figure out a good way to keep them out of my yard. The neighbor told me these skunks were in their crawl space and their dogs barked them away, never returned. Also heard that if I had the radio on 24/7 they would leave as they don’t like it noisy. And bright lights as well. And lastly, coyote urine supposed to do the trick as well but I’m not sure where we can get that around here! 🙂

  3. I have skunks around my hives every night. My understanding is that skunks look for food at ground level and below ground by smell. If the hives are a foot or so above the ground, they don’t even notice the hives. I was worried at first, but no skunk problems. If I clear out a yellow jacket nest under ground, they dig the hive up the first night, every time.

  4. You’re right, they mostly feed at ground level or below. Other beeks online has reported skunks scratching up their entrance, perhaps there’s no food source around and that was the last resort. Anyways, I am not going to do anything about them as they are great at destroying yellow jacket nests if they do build one underground on my or neighboring property. 🙂

Leave a Reply

