Thermal Images of Bee Hives – Air Temp 38 F

It’s so cold outside I didn’t even want to go out to take these thermal images of the bee hives. It’s currently 38F air temp with a dew point of about 34 F tonight. It’s crazy cold and the bees are clustered tightly to keep alive. Here are a few thermal images of some hives in my backyard.

This entry was posted in Honey Bees, Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thermal Images of Bee Hives – Air Temp 38 F

  1. Mil says:

    I love these pictures. I’ve always wished I could see inside the hives, and this way, we can…sort of. I’m a beekeeper who lives in the East Bay. Glad to have found your blog.

  2. Thanks for stopping by. You have a good load of information on your blog as well.
    I should start taking weekly thermal images of my hives as an “inspection” since we cannot open them up right now. It would tell me multiple things comparing the thermal images such as where the bees are clustering, if they have decreased in size, and possibly other info.

Leave a Reply

