Adopt A Hive – Bees At Home On An Ant Proof Hive Stand

This morning Matt adopted a swarm that we hived just last week in San Jose. This swarm was a good sized one and when we released the queen two days after we hived them they have already built a good amount of fresh white comb on the foundationless frames.

We talked a little this morning and Matt mentioned that he had ant issues last year but this year he built this new antproof hive stand. He drove a 4×4 into the ground. Cut a 5 gallon bucket and inserted it into the 4×4 as pictured below. Epoxy the necessary locations to make it watertight. Now water or oil can be used to keep ants from climbing up the stand. And the last part is to build the supports to hold the hive. Pretty nice looking and solid. (Picture below taken by Matt)

This entry was posted in Adopt A Hive, Honey Bees, Swarms and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adopt A Hive – Bees At Home On An Ant Proof Hive Stand

  1. Todd says:

    I had some ant issues at a hive in Woodside this year, and had moats around all 4 posts. I had pretty decent sized Tupperware containers filled with water surrounding said posts. I went by one day and noticed a line of ants going in/out of the hive. I looked around and didn’t see any bridges from grass or sticks (as sometimes happens). So I followed the trail and couldn’t believe it. The ants were swimming across the water! They had created a chain and gapped the 4 inches or so to the post. I think I’ll be putting in some dish soap this year to break the surface tension of the water. Also, I may attempt to fit some hardware cloth over the moats, as there were many dead/drowned bees. But then again, I guess that’s the occupational hazard of being a bee. Anyway, just one more thing to think about.

    Also, thanks for the site Jack. I did my first hive rescue a week ago. I rescued a colony that was living in a stack of 4 tires for about 2 years. I framed 10 frames of existing comb with brood, pollen and honey, rubberbanding them in to medium frames. The colony was pretty big. Every frame was covered in bees. I would say there were at least 20,000 bees. There were a ton of drones as well – I mean a lot! I never saw the queen, and I sort of attribute that to there being so many bees and drones as well. But I housed them up and came back in the evening and everyone was in the new hive. I took it out the next morning to an organic farm I’m working with this year. Quite a location upgrade! There are acres of wild blackberry out there, and they’re about 2 weeks away from blooming. Good stuff!

    Cheers!
    Todd

  2. Todd says:

    …and after thinking about the hardware cloth…. that won’t work! Engineering is best suited in the field! 🙂

  3. Hey Todd,

    Ant trail leading to swimming ants, glad I don’t have those around my apiary. 🙂 hehe
    That’s amazing. I have never heard of that. Next time capture it on video!
    Instead of water you can try veggy oil or vaseline around the legs but still have the moats below to catch the melting vaseline in the Summer.

    Congrats on your first cutout. Any pics?
    I hope you got the queen, have you gone into the hive yet to see if she’s there?
    Sometimes the queen will run around inside the tire. Hope you were able to bounce the bees out of the tire at the end or look inside of it.
    Let us know if you got her or not on your next inspection.

    • Todd says:

      I took pictures, but I don’t think I can post any here? I can send you some pics via email if you like. I’ll be checking in on the hive this week and looking for the queen. Looks like I will have to wait it out until the end of the week for the rain to pass. Whenever I go in, I’ll let you know what I find.

  4. Pingback: Adopt A Hive – Picking Up A Second Swarm | Los Altos Honey Bees

Leave a Reply

