Palo Alto Swarm Relocated For New Homeowners

Received a call from Shu this morning saying that they just closed on the house and the inspector told him that he has bees on the eve of his roof. When I heard that I thought maybe it was too late and the swarm moved in already but I rushed over and saw that it was just a swarm and where they were clustered didn’t have any void space they could call home. This was a pretty good sized swarm. There were more bees on top of the roof.

I came with just my camera so I went back to my parent’s place to pick up my dad and our truck complete with our bee removal equipment. We knocked the bees into a hive box and quickly caught the queen. Though it took me twice because the first time I caught her I thought I squeezed her in between the catcher so I opened it up and saw her fly off. Then found here again on the edge of the hive box and caught her for reals this time. 🙂

We left the box there until dark to pick up all the bees as some did move underneath the roof tiles. Thanks Shu for calling us to save the bees!

This entry was posted in Bee Removal, Honey Bees, Palo Alto, Swarms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Palo Alto Swarm Relocated For New Homeowners

  1. Todd says:

    Nice Jack! Speaking of queen trouble, I went into 2 hives that I caight as swarms. I finally found the queen on the last frame of the 1st hive. Big and beautiful. I had decided earlier that I wanted to try my hand at marking them. The first one went off without a hitch. The 2nd however, didn’t fare so well. My queen escaped for the same reason – I thought I was crusing her with the catcher – so I opened it up a bit, and she flew away 😦

    I hope she comes back, but if not, there are eggs, so I am sure they’ll draw up an emergency queen. Wondering if you think she’ll make it back?

    Todd

  2. She won’t go far. Usually she flies onto a hive. I had one last year during inspection, he flew into the next hive which was only like 1 foot away, of course they balled her. Hopefully your queen went back into the right hive.

Leave a Reply

